National Parks in Vhembe Region

National Parks in Limpopo

Limpopo is home to numerous nature reserves and National Parks. South African National Parks (SANParks) is the body responsible for managing South Africa's national parks. SANParks was formed in 1926. The best known park is Kruger National Park, which is also the oldest (proclaimed in 1898), and the largest, at nearly 2.000.000 hectares (20.000 km2). The Kruger Park and Table Mountain National Park are two of South Africa's most visited tourist attractions.

Kruger National Park - Hippos

Kruger National Park

Limpopo Province offers access to the world-renowned Kruger National Park in its eastern region through the Pafuri, Punda Maria, Phalaborwa and Orpen gates. Seventy percent of the Kruger Park lies within the Limpopo Province. A sweeping expanse of indigenous bush, sub-tropical lowveld vegetation and terraced hills and the largest national park in South Africa, this unique wilderness area is one of the most famous wildlife sanctuaries in the world.

Mapungubwe National Park Limpopo

Mapungubwe National Park

Vhembe-Dongola, now Mapungubwe National Park, was formed in 1995 when the South African National Parks was appointed to conserve and enhance the tourism potential of the area. Declared a World Heritage Site in July 2003,  Mapungubwe today forms the core area of the newly opened Mapungubwe National Park. The park is situated 60 km west of Musina and 230 km north-west of Polokwane, the capital of Limpopo.